Diamonds are forever…or not!

My engagement ring is a channel set white gold ring with seven 10 point diamonds. It’s simple,  nothing overly fancy, but precious to me. The diamonds are big enough to sparkle beautifully in the sun. Since we got engaged in college with a very limited budget, they are definitely not flawless diamonds. The color is fairly bright, but some of the diamonds have some occlusions, including a tiny black speck.

Last month, I was sitting and talking with a friend when I glanced at my hand and noticed that something looked “off”. Since I was in this deep conversation, I couldn’t take a closer lookout it. Later, I found out that one of the diamonds had cracked, and that almost 1/3 of the diamond was chattered. I was in absolute shock, I didn’t think diamonds could break. (With a little help from Google, I found out they can, with the right amount of force). Anyway, this beautiful little diamond, so pretty, so sparkly, NOT perfect, but precious, was dead. That’s all I can describe it as. That little thing was dull, gray, lifeless.

Sadness filled me… Sure, of course because of material reasons and because of my natural, emotional attachment to the ring, but also because I sensed that that is, in a way, the life of a woman. We are created to be full of life, beautiful, happy, shiny, and sparkly, but one major blow can kill that spark. We wonder if this can even be repaired. Now, unfortunately, my diamond can not be repaired. It is done.

But when we lose our sparkle, crack or chatter to pieces, we are not broken forever. God can repair us, God can fix us, God can make us alive and sparkly again through the healing love of his precious son, Jesus Christ!

If you are going through a time where you feel that you have lost your sparkle or that you are broken, perhaps you are chattered to pieces, know that God loves you, he loves YOU so much, he longs to take those pieces, heal you, fix you and shine you up to be more beautiful and sparkly than ever before.

So, be encouraged today! I praise God for you! Be blessed today and know that you are loved for who you are today and forever!

Have a sparkly day, Kat at Java In the Morning

One response to “Diamonds are forever…or not!

Leave a Reply

