Gratitude and Generosity

I don’t know if it’s the colors, the smells, the food or the anticipation of things to come, but fall is my favorite time of year. There is something about the crunch of the amber and crimson leaves under my feet, the beautiful golden harvested fields, and the smell of pine infused bonfires that make me feel cozy. So as I snuggle up with my warm, fuzzy socks and a pumpkin spice coffee, I reflect on this season.

I think about the holiday we celebrate with large family gatherings and bountiful feasts: turkey, ham, green bean casserole, stuffing, salads, and pie (did someone say chocolate chip, pecan pie?). We will either play games with the group gathered or sit and watch the football game, but mostly we’ll nap.

The air will take on a crispy chill and many of us will begin to hibernate for winter, eating delicious warm meals, and bundle up in our long sleeves, coats, and boots. We may even crank up the heat a few degrees, especially during the night.
During the bustle of the season, I tend to overlook the reason for this season. We call it Thanks-giving, but it takes on more of an undertone of Abundantly-getting. The Lord has been reminding me in the last several weeks of all the things I have to be Thankful for. Things I tend to overlook. I am thankful for my five senses to see the beautiful fall colors, to take in the warm aroma of the cool air, to be able to hear the laughter and sounds of my gathering family, to be able to taste the rich fall flavors of a plentiful spread, and to be comforted by the protective warmth of a comfy home.

I am thankful for the provisions to be able to purchase and prepare a Thanksgiving dinner. I am thankful for healthy family and friends who are able to come together to celebrate: my husband, children, parents, siblings, cousins, and grandparents. I am thankful for all the amenities of a rich culture: a television, the latest broadcasts, media, and technology. I am thankful for my large wardrobe of clothing for every season.

Recently I encountered over seven thousand individuals in my state’s capital who did not have groceries or shoes, much less the wealth of blessings that I have. I am reminded that I am blessed, but wonder what I am doing to bless others. I give Thanks. But what else can I give?

2 Corinthians 9-12 reminds me of this: “Now he who supplies seed to the sower and bread for food will also supply and increase your store of seed and will enlarge the harvest of your righteousness. You will be enriched in every way so that you can be generous on every occasion, and through us your generosity will result in thanksgiving to God. This service that you perform is not only supplying the needs of the Lord’s people but is also overflowing in many expressions of thanks to God!”
Let us all be grateful this season, but better yet, may we all be generous so that others may recognize and praise God!

by Tiffany Heth

One response to “Gratitude and Generosity

  • Kat

    I love it that God created us to have those 5 senses. He didn’t have to! I bet he had fun with it too!

    And yes, let’s remember to be thankful AND generous this season!

    Beautiful words, Tiffany, thanks for sharing!

    Kat

Leave a Reply

