Laundry Days…

Bri Blakney is a licensed minister in the Assemblies of God. She lived in Louisiana her whole life until recently when she and her husband moved from being Chi Alpha missionaries at the University of Louisiana Lafayette to Highlands Ranch, Colorado to help plant a church. She enjoys staying at home with their 3 children (ages 4 and under) and is loving being a part of Connection Church! You can check out her personal blogsite at briblakney.blogspot.com

Tide coupon

I don’t know about you, but laundry can seem to be overwhelming to me. I can clean my house and leave…and then when I come back I have a clean house…but laundry piles up so quickly!!

And it doesn’t matter if it is just you or five in your family…laundry can be a daunting task!! And it can be expensive too!!

So, here are a few things I’ve learned about laundry…and a good bit of this info came from my ebay book Absolutely Organized: A Mom’s Guide to a No-Stress Schedule and Clutter-Free Home by Debbie Lillard. (And I got this book in hopes of being clutter-free, which I’m working on still! J)

Here is the key…Pick a routine that works for you.

Here are the options:

1. Wash all of your clothes one day of the week and fold that night while you watch TV…or listen to a podcast…or music…whatever…just some of that multi-tasking.

2. Wash one family members clothes per day of the week… kids on Monday, mine on Tuesday, towels on Wednesday…

3. Wash one load and put it away before taking the next load out of the dryer.

I’m sure that there are more options…but the 3rd one was the charm for me!!!

Like I said, I bought the book because I deal with clutter…and I want to get rid of it! So to have a pile of laundry to fold was daunting to me! And I often got interrupted during my folding time – either by a kid or my desire not to fold clothes. And then there would be a mound of clothes to put away…

It really was too much for me.

So, I started doing the one load at a time and putting it away method.

I feel so accomplished!! And if a load sits in the dryer for a couple of days, at least it’s not on my floor haunting me!!

I did have to experiment with the different methods until I found the one that would work for me.

And now laundry detergent is a whole different thing…I love love love the smell of Tide. I just love it!! It makes me happy happy happy! So I budget it in…use coupons and stock up when it’s on sale. That’s how much I love it.

But I have a friend who would rather budget her money somewhere else, so she found a recipe to make her own on pinterest…and it’s working great for their family and saving them a ton of money! Because she had the rest of the ingredients and only had to buy one item, it cost her 97 cents to make a 5 gallon bucket of concentrated detergent! That’s a lot cheaper than my precious Tide!! If you want the recipe, I can find it out for you and email it to you!

What do you do to make the laundry load a little easier?

by Bri Blakney

730509_10152423689095494_1925353904_n

One response to “Laundry Days…

  • Kat

    I do one load each night. That has been a sanity saver to me. No more laundry day… hmmm… actually, I have a sheets day… 😉 That one takes awhile… That’s the day I put on my housewife hat and try and not do any other [real] work! 😀

Leave a Reply

